Section 4 – Reflective Summary

Here is the job I applied for: Sales Advisor job – H&M – Dundee _ Indeed.co.uk

Here is my CV, and my Cover Letter.

Reflection:

My placement at zenelements Ltd. was very successful overall, and I greatly enjoyed working with Alex. Alex and I got along quite well, we could have casual chats and grab a coffee for a break, so it wasn’t too professional. I also believe that I performed well, judging from my employer’s feedback on my work. I do however feel that the placement was a little too short to learn everything that I hoped. Before my placement I wanted to learn quite a lot about the marketing and branding industry. That’s not to say I didn’t learn anything, but it is the industry in which I am looking to pursue a career. Therefore, I wanted to learn a lot more about marketing and branding. I did learn how to create customer profiles, how to dissect a creative brief from a client, and how to create a marketing strategy. This only scratches the surface of what marketing and branding really entail. Because the time spent with the firm only consisted of 30 hours, it hasn’t quite made an impact on the choice of my future career. The experience was a positive one, and therefore I still want to work within marketing and branding. If I were to stay there longer however, it may be revealed that it’s not what it seems. I can’t tell as of yet. The internship module has been quite helpful and has given me a lot of insight as to what the professional environment is like, and how to behave within it. After my placement, I created a LinkedIn, which I will be successively expanding and working on throughout my future career. I have also asked Alex to be a reference of mine for future employers, to which he has agreed. So in the future, I will contact him if a future employer would like a reference. In the future I will also consistently update my CV based on new activities and work experiences. Through LinkedIn I will make sure to network with more people and add as many people as I know on the platform, as this may boost my employability. I may even ask Alex and my other previous employers to write a recommendation for my page, as this would make me more likely to be seen by potential employers and headhunters. For my last year at university I might also look into the careers service at the University of Dundee to help me find a job after graduation. As for this summer and the next, I will apply for several jobs back in Sweden. I have even asked a few friends back home to talk to their employers to see if there are any vacancies that I could fill for summer. Getting any work experience is key to get a desirable entry job for my future graduate career.

Evidence:

Here is my first piece of evidence. It is my new LinkedIn profile.

Nils Person LinkedIn profile

Here is my second piece of evidence. It is my Careers Investigation Interview notes.

Career Investigation Report

Leave a comment