Section 2 – Reflective Summary

Here is my Star Statement Worksheet.

Reflection:

During this semester, I have developed some of my skills quite a lot, and even learned a couple of new skills. Initially, I expected to learn one or two skills more in depth, but due to unforeseen circumstances I managed to use several skills and learn several more. For the first couple weeks, my employer, Alex was expecting to re-brand his company during my placement. So, for the first week he wanted me to create a questionnaire to reveal what zenelements’ true new identity was going to be. I have created questionnaires before, but this one developed my questioning skills and my knowledge of branding as I had to do some research on branding strategies. It also elevated my comfort and confidence when speaking to more powerful figures. It seemed that I did quite a good job from Alex’ reaction and I would’ve done it the same way if I had to do it again. During the second week Alex and I discussed what was to be done next. I wasn’t quite sure, but Alex taught me that a good starting point is deciding which type of clients you want to work with. So, I had to create three customer profiles based on short briefs that Alex and I had gone through. This developed my creativity as I had to come up with three completely different fictional people with fictional personalities and characteristics. I had never done something like this before and it was therefore quite exciting. Again, my research skills got better as I had to look at several examples of customer profiles. Alex seemed happy with my work once again, which boosted my confidence even further and I felt very encouraged to do the best I could for the next task. After a short break from going into the office, Alex had decided to postpone the rebranding as he was too busy with his clients. He therefore wanted me to help him with one of his three current clients. The client was the Dundee Carers Centre, who together with several other partners were going to run a campaign titled, “Carers of Dundee”. My task was to design several logos and logotypes within certain guidelines set by Alex and set by the creative brief we received from the client. I believe this was the task in which I had the most experience previously. Creating logos is something I had done for my youth enterprise in high school. I still managed to develop my IT skills while using Paint S, an app similar to Microsoft paint. This task also boosted my creative skills. After I presented my ideas to Alex, the next step was to create a marketing strategy for the campaign. The strategy was largely web-based, using social media, e-mail, and a website for the campaign. I believe this is the task that taught me the most, as I didn’t have much experience in this and it was more comprehensive than I thought. During my placement, I developed my questioning skills, research skills, creative skills and my IT skills. I also learned some completely new skills such as, creating customer profiles, and creating a marketing strategy. However, I believe the skills I developed the most were my social skills in a work environment. I was quite nervous going into the internship, but I was very confident with Alex at the end of it.

Evidence:

This is my first piece of evidence. It is a creative brief from our clients and campaigners, Carers of Dundee. Creative Brief for Carers of Dundee – v1

This is my second piece of evidence. It is my initial logo designs for the Carers of Dundee campaign.

Screen Shot 2018-03-26 at 19.26.44

 

This is my third piece of evidence. It is my secondary logo designs for the Carers of Dundee campaign.

Screen Shot 2018-03-26 at 19.27.16

Leave a comment